Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, harnessing energy from the sun is gaining popularity as a major power source in households. This development emerges because people are getting conscious of current environmental issues. Although it is considered to be beneficial to the environment, many believe the technology is too expensive and unreliable. This essay will extensively discuss both aforementioned gains and losses of using solar energy as electricity generator in residences. First of all, harnessing solar energy to produce electricity is indeed environmentally friendly. For instance, the process of converting the sun’s energy into electricity does not impose any harm to the environment by using a renewable energy source that is eternally available. In contrast, the common method to produce electricity requires the burning of fossil fuels, which is a non-renewable source of energy that may eventually run out. Moreover, using solar power source does not produce any harmful gases or air pollutants which may be detrimental to health if inhaled for a long time. Hence, this technology is highly suitable for residential areas. On the other hand, a major drawback of using solar panels to produce energy is the cost of the equipment and the installation itself. This means a huge fund is required to supply households with sufficient solar panels and generator to produce enough electricity for the area. Moreover, there may be fluctuations of the energy being produced as the technology relies on nature, in this case, the amount of sunlight. Hence, the issue makes this technology not suitable for some parts of the world. For instance, with minimal daylight in Alaska, using solar panel as a power source would be inconvenient. In conclusion, harnessing sunlight to power households remained to be a popular option these days. Keeping the environmental aspects in mind, this advancement proves to be beneficial as it is utilising renewable source of energy as well as not producing any dangerous emissions. Despite that, the high expenses required to apply such technology to houses and the unreliability of the energy source become some of the major drawbacks.