In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

The rapid growth of out of town shopping centres are evident and recently more and more people are choosing them over local shops mainly because of two reasons, low prices and a wide range of products. However, since they are located out of town, people have to drive there and it has caused an increase in the usage of cars. To commence with, we discuss why these malls are chosen. The important factor in shopping for everyone is the price they have to pay. Firstly, since these stores are not located in the city centre, they wouldn't have to pay as much for their rents. Secondly, as a result of their mass purchases, they are usually offered discounts from the manufacturers. Therefore, they are able to sell the same thing at lower prices to the customers than the small downtown stores. Moreover, another factor for this trend is that everyone cares about the feeling they get while shopping. Due to the fact that these malls offer a wide range of products as well as services and activities such as cinema and playgrounds for children, customers tend to enjoy their time spent there. These two are the main benefits of out-of-town shops. On the other hand, we have to consider how they could be detrimental to society. The more people choose these malls the more local businesses reach their bankruptcy. Inevitably, more would have to go out of the town for their shopping and unfortunately, it would become almost impossible for those without cars. Thus, more vehicles are purchased each year which definitely will lead to more usage of petroleum and fossil fuels. Consequently, it will contribute to global warming which as a matter of fact is one of the main conundrums humanity is facing. To summarize, the construction of out-of-town shops has the benefit of customer satisfaction by providing a fun and enjoyable atmosphere while offering a low range of prices for various products. However, the crucial demerit of it is that indirectly it is harming the environment and is jeopardizing the future of our next generation. In my opinion, the overall price we have to pay there is rather high and I would prefer to opposite trend.