Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and your opinion.

Many governments consider economic growth as their most important goal while some people think there are other kinds of progress that are as important for a country. While there are some factors like education and culture, have minor influences on the progress of a country, I believe the financial situation would still be the most influential on the development of a country. For some people, education plays an equally important role as money. In other words, an educated population could help their country grow by developing knowledge in many aspects and consequently raise the awareness of every individual which is considered to be a development. In a similar manner, cultural growth would significantly affect the quality of people's lives. For example, Developing the culture of a country would help its inhabitants save their natural environment and therefore, enhance their quality of life lived in that environment. Although those aspects are considered to have the same importance, a prosperous life would only be possible if the financial levels in the economy rise. Monetary conditions can affect other growth aspects quite dramatically. For instance, in an underdeveloped country that is considered poor in the economy, culture doesn't seem very effective and educational efforts to bring about awareness wouldn’t help the development of the country as much. In conclusion, while there are other types of progress which can have an influence on a country to some extent, it is only the role of the economy that would cause major progress in that country.