Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

On one hand, senior people undergo various changes within their body and these changes may contribute to a cognitive decline. Firstly, The body undergoes various physical and metabolic changes over the decades and this leads to many neurological diseases like Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, Dementia. The elderly who may be burdened by such diseases find it difficult to lead a normal life. For instance, in a statistical survey by Global Geriatric Society the number of people elderly people missing in the last few years have increased dramatically. The impact of missing elderly persons sometimes leads to mental health issues for other family members and this may lead to disruption among the family structure. Secondly, there are other musculoskeletal diseases like arthritis which may lead to difficulty in movement and would require constant supervision from a family member. As a result, a few people regard seniority as a burden on their families. On the other hand, due to faster recovery time and with the advent of home care facilities it is now possible to treat many diseases at home with the help of teleconsultations. A lot of elderly people are now embracing technology and are using it to make their lifestyle easier. To cite an example few researchers at Harvard University have come up with a self-driving wheelchair that can navigate in any terrain and can help in easy movement of people suffering from Arthritis. Furthermore, Virtual reality is now being used in certain geriatric hospitals in the UK to help combat the feeling of loneliness among the elderly. Thereby, technology can be used to improve the quality of life of the elderly. In conclusion, despite few arguments on the ageing population being a burden with the availability of revolutionary technology at their fingertips it is easier than ever to lead a life as a senior citizen.