More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent times, youths pursuing tertiary education abroad is a very common phenomenon. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages tailored to this, which will be elucidated further in this essay with examples. First of all, among the many benefits, the most obvious one would be the adolescents’ bliss to receive better quality and a wide field of degrees from world renowned universities. Especially in developing countries, the main reason many students want to study abroad rather than at the local universities is either because the curriculum of their interest is unavailable, or they are simply not internationally recoginsed recognized. For example, many students from Nepal, Myanmar and India study in foreign nations such as U.S, Australia and Canada. Secondly, exposure to foreign culture allows young adults to learn and experience the culture of the destination as well as make new friends from other countries. Future career opportunities may be enhanced as one can expand his professional network. Lastly, there is a potential to secure a job upon completion of their degree which is the aim of many students as lifestyle and career opportunities in developed countries are more lucrative. Conversely, a notable drawback would be the brain-drain situation of the native country. To further explain, when a country is devoid of a fraction of the new generation that shoulders its future, it undoubtedly suffers both economically and financially since it must operate with the older generation of workforce. Another factor is the consequence on students as spending an immense amount of time away from mother country may force them to lose touch with their roots. For instance, surveys show that youngsters who spend their lives abroad since teenage years are less religious. To conclude, despite the drawbacks, the magnitude of the benefits is more immense. Those who opt to pursue higher education in foreign countries have a better-quality education, expand their reach for professions and a chance to settle down.