Some people say that the Olympic Games no longer play a role in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

In the 21st century, many people believe that the Olympic games is not given any importance. I agree that the games have lost its charm, earlier it was a matter of great discussion over various media channels. However, in the present era, many other sports activities have gained popularity over the Olympic. One of the main reasons why the games have taken a step back is due to the introduction of various other sport activities and their competitions. Nowadays, people are more interested in single games like cricket or football which has various stars with huge fan following. For instance, IPL or 20-20 cricket tournaments have replaced traditional cricket or Olympics, due to various stars who are a part of it like M S Dhoni, Virat etc. The other reason could be the rate of reoccurrence of Olympics. Olympics happen every 4 years and this is a very long gap in this rapid changing times. A lot can happen in 4 years, stars change, champions change etc. the champions of previous games is never seen in the next season. No one is aware of what happens to them, less fan followers so less hype about them in their victory. In addition to that, there are many categories and many different port activities which is hard for people who are not sport enthusiastic to follow or keep update about. For example, if one wins gold medal for javelin throw another one would secure gold for short-put, so it is a lot for people to remember and recollect. Hence not many are interested in the details. In conclusion, Olympics has lost the pomp and show it had in the past years since other innovation tournament have taken the spot. The four year gap is a long wait in this fast changing world also the numerous number of games and categories are hard for the current generation to stay forward.