In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered ef ective ways of maintaining links with the past. How ef ective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

While many nations believe that traditional attires plays an essential role to preserve our past. However, they are other methods also which seems to be more productive such as ceremonies related to historical events. Both views will discuss in this essay in-depth. On the one hand, significant numbers of countries assume that the use of traditional dresses in the events such as religious rituals and military parades plays an important role in transmitting cultural norms and behaviour to the next generation. Furthermore, this helps to transmit social memes like, self-sacrifice and mythologies among youngsters. For instance, the historical dress of swiss national which evokes their medieval independence. Thus, some people consider traditional attires as a good source of transmitting past values among the young generation. On the other side, there are other methods also which seems to be more powerful in persevering history such as ceremonies related to historical events. As it helps to convey the cultural norms and maintain the fabric of society. In addition, it is the convenient way in which culture is conserved and handed over to the next generation. To exemplify, visiting museums to see old art and handicrafts are less powerful in absorb conventions than attending musical events of old musical forms of opera. Another example of its is watching Robin Hood series or movies based on autobiography, as these stories are cultural inheritance that embodies important symbols and concepts far more effectively than the dress. To conclude, Although traditional dresses are important to understand our past events, by,contrast ceremonies and events are considered more powerful concepts to transfer are cultural norms among the next generation.