Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible. To what extent do you agree with this?

In most countries, Local farmers benefit from protective taxes. Some argue that policies like this are not essential while others think in order to have a sustainable economy it is vital to design these tariffs. I personally agree with the former statement. To begin with, protective tariffs are designed to shield domestic producers like farmers from foreign competition. Not only this can result in saving the farmers from going bankrupt it also helps them have a more profitable business so they can extend their production. By adding specific taxes to some products the value of the same products would be different and more local commodities would be sold. For instance, in 2010 in,Iran the value of Indian rice, which was quite popular because of its cheap price, rose this occurrence resulted in selling more Iranian rice the following year. Additionally, in order to have a sustainable economy in every nation. It is important to have these sorts of tariffs to protect the local community. local products are the outcome of time, energy and regional resources so if a commodity is produced it should be sold within or outside the borders if not, it would result in numerous economic losses for both farmers and the country as a whole. in other to prevent this from happening and grant the domestic products to be sold the additional taxes should be enforced on products from outside the border. This additional income can also be used to save the domestic commodities and facilitate the producers to have a better production. A good example of this is china which has high-rate taxes on foreign products and it resulted in growth in its international economic status. To sum up, it seems that it is necessary to have protective taxes to help the local farmer and domestic commodities and a balanced national economy.