Is has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks be greater than benefits to the community and the young adult themselves?

Communities and non-profit establishments to assist needy as well as homeless individuals are many in every country. And some of these organizations haven’t enough money to finance and pay salary to all employee, thus volunteer workers, who help to them in their free time, are really needed to these establishments. Now I will talk about the disadvantages and the advantages of doing voluntary jobs for themselves and these organizations. Firstly, the main favour of having the kind of staff in the organizations is that most voluntary working mode is likely to free of salary and fee. So, the communities can save their budget, and spend on other essential things instead of paying salary. I think, most employees who work in the charity establishment are employed in a voluntary mode without any fee. Thanks to volunteers, charity institutions are able to exist because of human resource cost saving in my opinion. Secondly, for young individuals, as doing this kind of work, they will gain some kinds of life-experiences such as how to care people, what activities in our society are done by these kinds of organizations and how to distribute things like food and clothes. Furthermore, the core advantage of being a voluntary employee in the charity is that young adults meet the diversity of society, and they realize some crucial life-lesson through charity events. Maybe, one drawback I can mention is that they spend their time on voluntary job instead of relaxing or doing other things. For example, I participated in a donation event 2 years ago and that day I meet needy people, as well as,get knew that why we help them. The event made me humble and supportive of others. To sum up, helping each other, especially the needy is necessary for our society, I think. Doing voluntary jobs without payment is a real and big charity to people who need support. So, it seems that young adults should spend their free time on more options to do charity work because the charities need more and more volunteers in order to deliver assistance to people.