People can live and work anywhere they want to choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

Improved communication and transport have made it possible that people can choose the preferable cities to live and work in. This essay will argue that this trend has more benefits than drawbacks from two perspectives: efficiency and economy. To begin, sending messages via the internet and new transports have reduced a great amount of time on the road. In terms of communication, in the past letters and telegrams were used to exchange information, which arrived after days. By contrast, online communication software and mobile applications of today allow netizens to send various forms of instant messages—texts, pictures, voice messages and video calls—whenever and whatever they like to build close rapport. Second, with the invention of faster transports, travellers commute using subways and take a long trip via bullet trains instead of buses and traditional trains that are much slower, thereby the saved time can be used for working or quality time with close ones. Furthermore, the improvement in the two fields of life has cut spending largely. On the one hand, while in the past text was charged according to how many were sent, a great number of current data companies provide their customers with unlimited mobile data at a relatively low price. Also, with wifi services offered in public, some even have long video calls for free. Additionally, new transports, such as bullet trains and maglev trains, with lower ticket prices are affordable and preferable for most families. Indeed, it is reported by the Transportation Department of China that an increasing number of people choose bullet trains for cheap pricing as an alternative for flights, which suggests that the appearance of new transports enables travellers to go on cheaper long journeys. In conclusion, improved communication technology and transport have more benefits for reducing time on the road and spending less money. Therefore, I believe these advantages outweigh any disadvantages that will seem less important by comparison.