Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Rubbish production has increased considerably over the last few years. In this essay, I will argue why I believe this problem is occurring and suggest some strategies that governments can take to decrease the amount of garbage generated. Waste production is highly influenced by individuals' exaggerated consumption. In many countries, Capitalism's lifestyle and advertisements induce people to consume more products, which leads to greater rubbish production and thus pollution. For instance, many people are influenced by TV commercials and digital influencers to purchase a more modern cellphone even though they already have a decent cellphone to use. In some cases, this may even lead to an inadequate discard of the old cellphone, which is very harmful to the environment. Therefore, the more products we consume, the more trash will be produced. There are some actions governments can take to overcome this challenge. One way is to obligate companies to collect and recycle the products, such as electro domestics, that the public can no longer use or does not want to use anymore. Another way is to promote environmental education programs in schools to encourage sustainable consumption at an early age. Finally, there should be around the cities, stations where people can correctly discard their solid waste and receive incentives for that, such as discounts on their water or power bills. In conclusion, rubbish production is caused by unsustainable consumption, which can cause environmental problems. This issue can be lessened by partnerships with companies, environmental education programs in educational facilities, and the implementation of recycling stations in cities.