Governments should spend money on public transportation rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays governments fund a bunch of money to public transportations, while some believe that public transportations has a great importance,others claim that major one is roads, how ever in my point of view,the advantages of public transport more outweigh. Firstly, Public transportations have various type of advantages, to give an example;relieve traffic,environmental benefit and much more. Initially as a metropolitan citizen traffic takes up a lot of space in our lives but its connected to use of car rate, almost everyone has a car, consequently if the rate of using car decrease and public transportation using rate can increase it effects directly in positive way for the traffic. Secondly the most populer problem in these days, environmental pollution. While that if peoples use less car each day it can be solved without any danger, however its also connected to public transportations, for an example south countries has a cleaner air since the percentage of public transport usage is higher rather than the others. As a result governments should spend much more money to public transportations rather than roads in worldwide for our social and physical health or to get used to each other.