The ınternet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both this views and give your opinion.

Undeniably, the use of social media is controversial. People rely more on it, especially in communication. Many people of younger generations prefer to speak via text or video calls instead of face-to-face. Some others, especially adults, are concerned that this would hinder people's sociability. Both sides of the argument will be discussed, following my personal opinion. Social media users claim that communicating with messages and calls are much more convenient. For instance, instead of physically commuting to one's place, a call can be made; and if the person does not pick up, a message can be left. This is especially more apparent with global corporations. Companies with multiple branches throughout the world can arrange meetings without having to travel to different countries and regions. Yet some people see the downside of this phenomenon. According to research, a human eye can unconsciously observe another person's micro behaviour, such as nervousness, anger, or doubt. The opposers of social media communication argue that these factors are important for human interaction. For example, a text message saying hahaha can be interpreted as either comedic or sarcastic, while a human can obviously differentiate between the two. This is greatly significant in big-scale negotiations, which is why governments still negotiate on location. In my opinion, conversing via social media is a great step towards development, as it greatly reduces the time for the idea to reach the recipient. However, we should find a balance between reality and social media, as some conversations cannot be held online. To illustrate, if I upset my friends somehow, I would rather apologise to them face-to-face as it gives off Genuity. That is why I believe that both means of communication have their own pros and cons. In conclusion, despite the prolonged argument of whether social media conversation is superior to the real-life one, I think that it massively depends on the time and occasion. Some information may be fine sharing online and vice versa. Ultimately, I believe it is best to respect the person we are communicating with and understand why he or she prefers to have the conversation either online or offline.