Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Technology has changed the way people form relationships and interact with others. This has changed in all aspects of life, like finding jobs, partners and even keeping up with friends and family. Some believe such a drastic change has been beneficial to society, while others believe it has alienated and driven us apart. To me, I believe that technology is a net positive as people can find better opportunities and keep friendships close regardless of geographic distance. To begin with, smartphones and other Internet-connected devices are ubiquitous throughout all tiers of society. For example, children and adolescents simply cannot imagine an existence without their connected devices, and they have built their friendships and relationships using those modern gadgets. Further, adults can now find more suitable jobs easier and advance their careers more rapidly thanks to better access to job positions that better fit their talents. Moreover, there is a great deal of stable, loving relationships that have begun through dating applications and are becoming more common as the world becomes better connected. Nevertheless, technology has not been entirely a force of good. Sociologists have observed that social media has made it much easier for some to slide into echo chambers where they meet and interact with like-minded folk. This has lead to more polarization of opinions, and more extreme opinions such as climate change denial and conspiracy theories have flourished in recent times. Another example of drawbacks is the increase of mental disorders caused by increasing dependency on social media platforms, particularly in children and younger people. In conclusion, the development of a more connected world has been a double-edged sword. It has lead to a huge increase in the exchange of information, furthered careers, and facilitated communication across the world. However, it is not without its drawbacks. Responsible governments should impose better regulations on social media platforms and parents should better monitor their children's activity online.