Today, people can work and live anywhere they want, because of the improvement of communication technology and transport. Do advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The developments of communication technology and transport have increased our living standard especially in the aspect of working and living places. We can now have many advantages in choosing where to work and live thanks to these advancements but in my opinion there are still a lot of problems and restrictions. It is undeniable that the labour force these days have a wider range of choices regarding their work place and accommodation. They can opt to live in a neighborhood which is the most suitable for their family, considering factors of the environment, living cost and children upbringing. At the same time, they can work for a company far from home such as those in industrial zones or in the downtown. To make it possible, they can rely on developed systems of transport, including modern infrastracture, cars, and metro system, to name a few. Also, they may work from home with the help of the Internet and online platform. In fact, such terms as tele-conference teleconferences, live meeting have become widespread among office workers. In other words, with the improvements of transport and communication, physical distance is less likely to affect where we work and live. However, the priviledge of working and living at a favourable place is not for all. Firstly, menial workers still need to be present at factories to handle their job and special professions, for example doctors and nurses, need meetings in person. In these cases, the Internet and applications do not benefit them significantly. Also, in many countries, transport systems are not efficient enough, with various issues, such as congestion and waste of time and money on commuting long distances. Another global concern is that car overuse leads to air pollution and the depletion of natural resources. Generally, I strongly believe that tele-working is only for certain workers and jobs and transport remains problematic around the world. In conclusion, while people are having more freedom in deciding where to work and build their home, measures still need to be taken and more technological progresses need to be made.