Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, social media such as Facebook or Instagram are considered to be harmful to not only humans but also society. I partly agree with this point of view because of several reasons. It is difficult to deny the benefits that are brought by the advancement of social networking sites. First of all, it is an effective tool to loosen the distance between individuals. For example, students who live far away from their families might be able to connect with their parents via virtual platforms. It is useful for them to avoid homesickness, which may positively affect their mental well-being. Moreover, the internet community might bring more job opportunities for those who want to be employed. There are more and more companies choosing social websites as an ideal place to do their recruitment. Candidates can participate in groups that are suitable for their demands in order to seek jobs. In contrast, there are many impacts on both individuals and society caused by social networking. Modern residents tend to no longer get along with each other compared to the past. For example, teenagers spend at least 3.5 hours per day texting and surfing the internet. It leads to a decrease in communication skills, which might cause significant problems to social interaction in the next generation. Furthermore, the conditions of social media users are being impacted negatively. They are commonly exposed to diseases such as obesity and also regularly catch routine infections. It is because they do less physical activities, hence, their immune system is unable to execute its duties. In conclusion, while it is true that networking sites are important in improving life quality, people’s strength and social communication are being affected tremendously.