Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some fairly new but increasingly universal notions are heating a debate over the impacts of residing in a nation that requires speaking a foreign language. While some people side with the fact that it can not only lead to social but also practical issues, others do not. In my very belief, I particularly consider myself an advocate of the former. Without a shadow of a doubt, communicating in a brand-new language beside mother tongue is the main driver of serious problems, namely language barriers and misunderstanding. Firstly, fundamental differences in communicative tools can deter people from expressing themself thoroughly, leading to great anxiety as well as the fear of being left out. For example, a wide range of cross-border learners could not integrate with the society of the host nation, hence, experiencing undesirable tensions. Secondly, misunderstanding can also be cited as a threat for using a foreign language. Obviously, if the speakers do not fully understand others, this can result in misperception or even worse, conflicts, including both verbal and physical ones. While the so-called drawbacks of this statement are widely acknowledged, its redeeming feature, in fact, still lingers. Undeniably, by inhabiting with people who make use of other languages, people have a chance to cultivate their language -related sets of skill as well as a chance to expand the boundaries of their knowledge about other traditional ethos, thus, become a more rounded person. To exemplify, English learners have a tendency to be advised to get access to english-speaking environment as much as possible to make progress in their study. Therefore, to some extent, this phenomenon can be beneficial for people. To sum up, despite the merits brought by dwelling in a nation that needs to communicate in another language, it, in fact, can be detrimental by causing unwanted adversities for people, especially in terms of language barriers and misleading conceptions.