Shopping habits depend more on your age group than anything else. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that purchasing habits depend more on the consumer's age than other factors. In this essay, I am going to explain why I totally disagree with this point of view because I believe that advertisement and social class are more related to consumption practice than the age group. Nowadays, further advertising campaigns are being developed to influence the shopping pattern. Firstly, these advertisements utilize different types of brain stimulations, for instance, visual and music content, causing highly desire to own one specific product. Secondly, by expanding the product's dissemination, consumers become more familiar with it and their confidence in it increase, consequently, they tend to acquire it. According to a study from Oxford University, two-thirds of respondents prefer very-publicized products on television rather than unfamiliar peers. Moreover, another major factor that strongly influences the type of consumption is the individual's social class. A good illustration of this is Maslow’s pyramid which correlates human-being desires with his financial condition, demonstrating that his main priority is always related to his survival. Primarily, individuals require to assure ordinary needs, such as food and clothing. Only after that, they can spend money on vehicles or trips. As a result of this, while lower-status persons spend barely their entire salaries on products that can guarantee their survival, wealthy people are more willing to look for luxurious items and unique experiences because they have already guaranteed the fundamental needs. In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that some factors, such as the influence of advertisement and the person's social class are more deeply related to shopping habits than their age group. Both of them have an enormous influence on shopping habits because they define different types of consumer desires and priorities, according to the public analysed.