People nowadays work hard to buy more things. This has made our life generally more comfortable but it is a pity many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Over the past few decades, there has been a nuanced change to the way people perceive living, particularly in pursuing a more materialised lifestyle. Some argue that, while this altering in life standards brings comfort to the quality of our lives, many traditional family values have been overlooked. This essay advocates this statement, as individuals should prioritise these fundamental social norms over the enhancement of living quality. First and foremost, from an individual perspective, these traditional values serve as the cornerstone of one's well-being which cannot be substituted by shopping new items alone. These include spending quality time with family members, supporting the elders and bonding with other local dwellers. Taking the vital family relationship-building time for example, researchers have found that it could enhance the belonging feeling which supports one's overall mental health, contributing to a growth in happiness and developing a healthier mindset. In other words, people who treasure family values will feel more supported and motivated when they come back from work. On top of the preceding discussion, a materialised lifestyle also jeopardises our environment from a global aspect. The reason behind this is due to the unnecessary production of items consumed by individuals. A typical example of this will be mobile phones, which are currently being rapidly replaced with newer substitutes by the owners to gain access to the convenience provided by the advanced technologies, like faster internet. This is problematic as most of the batteries are not recycable, causing a dramatic increase in landfills and hazard to the soil condition. Besides, there have also been numerous reports about the increasing amount of litter in the ocean, indicating the lifestyle's detrimental impact on the marine system. Therefore, it is widely acknowledged that maintaining an appropriate material pursuits with the preservation of traditional values is essential, both from the individual and the global perspective. Encouraging awareness and appreciation of traditions while pursuing progress can lead to a more holistic approach to modern life.