Some countries, more and more people becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are reasons for this? How can people research this?

It has become a trend in some countries that individuals often try to dig up the past of a place or building they are living in. We are going to take a look at the various reasons why people are interested in this history and what resources they use to get that information. Why are some people so curious to know about the history of a place they reside in? The answer to this question is, the tendency of human beings to understand completely the surroundings they live in. By learning about the history of a building they are living in people are indirectly learning about the socio-economic environment that existed in the society they live in, therefore, giving them more clarity about the locality. Another reason for digging up the past of a building is to make an emotional connection with the home, for instance, knowing about what the building was used for earlier or who resided in the building earlier will give you a sense of ownership of the building for a long time. Various sources are used by the residents for gathering information related to the house. The most common way is to have a conversation with other persons who have lived in the locality for a long time, thus gather clear and correct opinions about the history of the building. Another way is to surf the internet to find news that had been reported about the villa, although the information might not be perfect, most of the details will be correct. The less common method is to take help from local authorities that issued a permit for the building, to understand the legal history of a building. On a concluding note, we have discussed that there are various reasons why individuals would like to know about the history of the place they live in and there are various methods they use to find out the past.