In some cultures, children are often told that they ca achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

All cultures have their own specific quotes which can be considered as a motto as well. In some of those, kids are told that nothing is impossible and they are to gain what they desire if they are hard-working enough. There are some pros and cons to such a saying. To begin with, one could shed light on the advantages first. It is true that making kids ambitious from an early age can result in more creative grown-ups in future. The more their dreams are encouraged, the more hard-working people they become. Hence, they start shaping grander ideas in their minds. What happens next is that they try their best to achieve what they have wished for. Although they might face failure sometimes, they keep reminding themselves of the famous motto. Furthermore, they will not let difficulties get in their way. For instance, this saying is so popular in far-Eastern countries, such as Japan. As it is no mystery to anyone, the Japanese are one of the most innovative people who work really hard. That is why they could build their country the way it is, after the second world war. They also are one of the most successful countries when it comes to modern technology. On the other hand, the drawbacks cannot be subsided. This quote can be courageous in some cases, however, it sometimes can result in disappointment. It is not enough just to be ambitious or hard-working, in some situations. Not only do economical situations play an important role, but also people's social classes can affect their future as well. Therefore, relying on one's capability will not always be enough. To make it more tangible, referring to some middle-Eastern countries could provide good examples about the mentioned problems. There are many potentials in these countries which are going to be wasted, just because of the political situations and their poor economy. To sum up, it must be indicated that sayings which encourage you to try harder, in order to light your way and help you reach what you want, can be found in some customs. However, they have their own advantages and disadvantages just like many other phenomena.