It is thought by some that a school teacher's role is to motivate and inspire students. However, other people believe that a teacher's primary role is to pass on knowledge. What do you think is a role of a teacher?

Teachers play a very prominent role in a student's life. They usually have a greater influence on them after their parents and immediate family. It is generally believed that a good teacher is the one who not only teaches and helps their pupils gain knowledge but also motivates and helps them to become better individuals thus shaping their lives. It is often considered that the primary duty of a teacher is to impart proper knowledge and prepare the students for their examinations. While this is true to some extent, teachers also have a bigger role to play other than just teaching the juniors the subjects mentioned in their curriculum. Students spend around 10+ years in school and later in college before they become ready for the job market. Also, in countries like India, pupils spend most of their time in school with their teachers and fellow students besides their parents and siblings. Rather than educating the students on aspects essential for their examinations and further jobs, it is very important to teach them moral values and ethics without which a student's overall development is hindered. Furthermore, students usually respect their teachers and look at them as their role models. They are likely to learn everything that the teacher says and implement those in their daily lives. In schools, the students are usually compared with their co- students in their grades and behaviour. Thus, the students will try to be good and usually be the best in class. This attitude will involuntarily make them behave well in all situations and places. Apart from that, every parent of the student might not be educated. Being well-educated citizens of a country, teachers should take responsibility for teaching essential skills needed for living instead of just focusing on subjects. To conclude, apart from sharing their knowledge with the students, teachers should help them inculcate ethical and moral values and other important skills and assist in the overall development of a student.