Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Every country consists of a few historical places which are preserved by its regulatory bodies. However, there are a number of individuals who believe that these buildings must be demolished to construct new ones. This essay examines the significance of ancient places and also, does it affect progression of a nation if sustained? First and foremost, reason to retain old buildings is to preserve the heritage. For the matter of fact, these places carry an entire history of that era in them that how things would have been happening in the past. From the mode of construction to the material which has been used, everything would be antique and worth a watch. For instance, Lahore Fort in Pakistan is a magnificent piece of art and its walls are made of unique mirrors which are not available now a days. Secondly, these historical places are the first -hand experience for new generation to attain information about the past. Especially, for the visitors who are fond of travelling and studying various cultures and histories of places. Tomb Akbar in India, for instance, carries an unforgettable history and has gained attention of millions of travelers from across the world who visit and study the history of that era. Contrary to that, there are people who wish these buildings to be taken down. They are of the opinion that these places are carrying a wide space which is not being utilized adequately. Rather, it should be replaced with public service centers for the people to avail the area. These public centers could be any hospital, school or community center to avoid populating the cities with new buildings. Because, as per them, heavy funds are spent on their maintenance which could be utilized for some other productive projects like schools, libraries. In Africa for example, in 2018 all the natives demolished 70% of their historical buildings with mutual consensus in order to build public service centers in the country. In conclusion, it is of utmost significance to safeguard heritage of a country for the upcoming generations to learn about it. While, there is a mindset who oppose the statement and favors in the construction of new buildings instead. However, both school of thoughts have their significance but demolishment of historical places should be discouraged in order to protect history. Also, enough opportunities should be provided for a country’s progression.