Some people today prefer to get advice for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the growth of mental and physical diseases, the need for consulting with a professional has risen as well. Although some parties rather receive advice for their issues, instead of going to a clinic and visiting an actual physician. This might have numerous reasons, but I believe it could have some drawbacks in some cases. To begin with, one can shed light on why such a thing is happening, and why is it growing so vastly. In recent years, despite the improvements that have been made in the medical fields, some people still have doubts about the procedures that doctors might take and apply. Hence, they prefer to consult with them and get some opinions regarding their problems. Afterwards, they rather take an action themselves. Moreover, it is to indicate that there are some groups that focus on the dark side of medical situations. For instance, they only pay attention to the failed surgeries or mention the unsuccessful treatment which resulted in nothing positive. Therefore, they start self-healing, with a little bit of aid from the professionals. To continue, it is to point out the negative impacts that these self-curings can have on humans' lives. Not only might it cause them further difficulties or sicknesses, because of lack of knowledge, but also may get them into troubles, e.g. addiction to some types of medication. Whence, the more they surround themselves with these ideas that they can cure themselves, the more troubles they can bring to their lives. To make it more tangible, sleeping pills could be mentioned. For many years, doctors advised patients to take these tablets in order to have better sleep at night. However, they have also asked their patients to go back to them after a specific time. Unfortunately, they only took the first part and kept taking those pills without visiting their physician again. Thus, they became addicted and they lost control overtaking those tablets. To sum up, it must be concluded in this way that, although receiving some advice from doctors could be helpful in some situations, not going to them personally can cause future problems which can be pretty hard to be dealt with. So, the cons must not be overlooked and should be considered carefully.