Artist need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is predicated on the idea of freedom of expression, as art is meant, not only to display a pretty picture but also to pass on a message and make the viewer think. Therefore, I believe it is very important that artists be given full freedom to develop their creativity. On one hand, people may say that if we give artists such freedom, they may use it to display content that some may feel are not suitable for viewing from certain members of the public. Furthermore, artists may use this platform to display political messages condemning the government. For example, there is a museum in Sicily, which is only open to men, as the sculptures on display are from ancient Pompei, are highly sexual. Alternately, allowing artists to display their creative side, can allow them to create works of art that have a strong message, and make society think about current situations. It also helps to create enthusiasm on the subject amongst the younger generation. It can also help to create beautiful works of art that beautify the city. For example, in Trivandrum the government has asked artists to paint murals on the walls of the city centre, in an attempt to attract more tourists. This helps them to displays their skills and also gives them an opportunity to get more chances to be part of more lucrative projects. From the city’s perspective, the art will help bring in more tourists, thereby generating more revenue. In conclusion, I feel that artists ' creativity is important as it can help them to use art to ask certain questions of our society, more radically.