In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are having a lot of health issues because they are consuming fast food too often. In many countries the numbers of unhealthy people are rising significantly and therefore some people think that the government should implement a higher tax on this food category. Although I agree that the government should increase the tax to reduce the consumption of fast food, I also believe that encouraging people to eat healthy food will be an effective method. On one hand, implementing a higher tax on fast food will reduce its consumption. The higher the tax, the more expensive it will be to purchase these food items for the majority of the population. For instance, the middle and lower class who buy fast food most of the time / because it is affordable will start purchasing it less frequently. As the majority of the population is in that income, this policy will dramatically decrease the purchase of fast food. Therefore, a strategy of increased taxes will benefit the health of citizens in the long run. On the other hand, educating people regarding healthy food will also decrease the consumption of fast food. Teaching the community the benefits of eating a balanced diet for a healthy body and mind will change their perception of fast food. Moreover, a family can still choose to dine out by just replacing fast food with healthy food options. For instance, many restaurants have options for delicious salads and freshly cooked meals that are tasty and healthy. This way people will become aware of their well-being. To conclude, as people are eating more fast food nowadays, the government should impose a higher tax on these food items. However, encouraging people regarding nutritious alternatives will also contribute to a decrease in health problems.