Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

With technological advancement, a variety of construction procedures can be found in this 21st century. It is a highly controversial debate that how one building should be built up. Several individuals deem that governments should monitor this process; whereas, a group of mindset reckon the sponsors should have the authority to select the appropriate design, in an urbanscape. In my opinion, both notions have equal acceptance and equivalent weightage. Various reasons behind this are explained explicitly in the following paragraphs. To commence with, regulating the entire process of construction has numerous benefits. In this contemporary era, there is a growing concern for sustainability development. As a result of which before towering any vertical skyscrapers, builders require to check the guideline provided by higher authorities. To illustrate, in the mountainous regions, one can not build houses or restaurants more than three storeys depending upon land capability classifications, in Darjeeling. Not only, erection should be considered but also whether a building can provide safety and security from natural disasters are also a matter of concern. In Japan, all the residential, as well as business complexes, have earthquake resistance, which has been strictly maintained as per government regulations, to ensure safety, for instance. Moreover, to meet the current urge higher authorities are imposing stress on eco-friendly raw materials for working. In contrast, giving a free hand can encourage a planner to display meticulous designs and astonishing architecture. If they get permission to construct without considering any rules, then they will show their power of imagination and critical thinking. Consequently, any structure can be proved to be a masterpiece of art, which can shift a paradigm in this field. Besides, the particular nation will be known for its creativity in the history of the world. It can be a process of evolution, in this digital era. In fact, who will be supplying capital, might have a personal preference as well. For example, the Eiffel tower is an outstanding monument, which distinguishes Paris from the rest of the world cities. To recapitulate, I am a firm believer in the fact that both perspectives have valid points to support. There should be a collaborative approach while constructing anything in order to obtain a goal of developing healthier pursuits.