Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is no doubt in the importance of a parent's role in their child's life. However, sometimes people differ on the roles which a parent play, whether it is to educate them on right or wrong or to nurture them and provide them a safe environment. We shall see both sides of this coin in this essay. On one hand, a child's basic sense of what is right and wrong comes from his upbringing. This is where the concept is first introduced to a child. It is without a doubt a parent's role to instil such values in their child, as these are the foundations of what will make them a productive member of society in the future. In addition, to this, parents are also responsible to explain to children the concepts of hygiene. For example, in technopark Trivandrum, in many of the toilets, you will see a notice stating that people should not spit chewing gum in the urinals. On viewing this, one might think this is an odd message to put up. However, this is a problem, because many IT professionals do in fact spit their chewing gum in the toilets. Their reason for doing this is that cleaning the toilets is someone else's job so why should they bother. The other side of the coin is that parents should create a nurturing environment for their children. This is also true because, with the advancement of technology and the internet, there is so much pressure on the children. There is pressure from their peers, to look good, pressure from schools and parents to succeed. However, if the children can openly talk with their parents, then half of the problems will get solved because their parents can advise them, and even in extreme cases get them help which is needed. If parents, do not do this they will create a disconnect with their children which at times can have dire consequences. in conclusion, I feel it is important for a parent to play the dual role of a disciplinarian and a nurturer because being a child today is very difficult and confusing and as their primary carer, they will often seek advice from them.