In many countries around the world it is common for families to run their own business. some people think that keeping the business within the family is the best approach while other believe this could lead to problems. What is your opinion?

Some people may argue can help to improve profitability, whilst others may claim that it is a way of creating tension and squabbles between family members. However, I believe keeping a business within a family causes more problems than it does opportunities, which I will substantiate in this essay. On one hand, some people may argue that keeping the business within a family, helps to create a sense of ownership, thereby elevating their status in society. In addition, a well-run business will become profitable which led to a prosperous life for a family. It can also lead to a sense of pride, as there are no structured working hours, and the owners are not answerable to anyone. Alternately, the problem this possess, is that sometimes the parents expect their children to take up the business when they get older, but the children have their dreams for their future. On other occasions, the children may lack the work ethic and business skills to continue a business at a profitable level. Furthermore, if a family has more siblings, there may be difficulties that may arise amongst each other on how to run the business., which in turn could lead to the downfall of the business. In conclusion, I feel that once parents have spent their lives taking care of a family business and once, they have reached their retirement age, they should consider selling it, as most children have their versions of how their lives should be. However, the family needs to be open and honest with each other on their hopes and wishes.