Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

In recent years, the utilization of land has been drastically changing due to the varied needs of the human population. Although some people are of the view that land can be cleared to fulfil the growing necessities of human beings, others are of the opinion that it should be protected to save wildlife, especially endangered species. In my opinion, it is highly crucial to guard endangered animals so as to maintain ecological balance. It is true that inhabitants on Earth are trying to clear off the land including forests to satisfy their interests such as building houses, constructing large industrial areas, and cultivating crops. Moreover, because of the exponential increase in population, they think that there are no other alternatives than cutting down trees. For instance, in 2012, one of the eminent industrialists in India converted a forest area to barren land in order to establish his industrial network despite restrictions from the government. Therefore, the removal of trees and plants is becoming a ubiquitous trend among people because they assume that if this is not done, they will not be able to achieve their dreams of life. On the contrary, the preservation of land and forests should be given paramount importance because every year the number of animals being vanish is substantially increasing. Additionally, most of these animals are rare and their extinction may cause detrimental effects to the environment. For example, if tigers become extinct, the population of other herbivores such as deer will ascend resulting in the disruption of the environmental balance. Thus, it is indispensable to preserve land for animals to secure fauna and habitat. To conclude, the categorization of the use of land for various purposes is a debatable topic. While there are reasons to utilize it for human requirements, it is imperative to maintain some portion of the land to lessen the loss of biodiversity. Considering these aspects, I completely agree that the conservation of land for wild species must be given precedence over human demands to avoid adverse consequences on the environment.