In the past, the older generation were a source of knowledge and experience. nowadays, the older generation have little understanding or experience of the modern world. has this had any negative impact on the way the elderly are treated by society and the family? what could be done to solve this situation?

The advancement of technology and the internet has created a huge generation gap between the youth and the older generation. Before the arrival of the internet, they were considered as the earlier forms of information and knowledge. However, now since every answer can be obtained with the click of a button, they are less relied upon. The biggest negative impact here is that this will result in the discarding of the older generation, which will result in depression. Coupled, with their weaker immune system, this will more often than not lead to serious problems. Furthermore, in the olden times to make a payment for a bill (an example), they would need to walk to the store to make the payment. This way, they could interact with people. Now, as everything is being operated by machines, they are unable to carry out this basic activity. The only way forward here is for the youth to encourage the older generation to get more involved with new-age technology, however, it must be done at a pace that is comfortable for the old-timers. In addition to this, the government can create programs for the ancient folk which will teach them the basics of the internet and how to operate the same. In conclusion, whilst it is only natural that the advancement of technology causes a generation gap, we must not ignore the wisdom that is offered by the taken for granted. Rather, than tossing them to one side, we should spend our time trying to educate them with these new-age technologies, because one day we too will be in the same boat.