In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive development or negative development?

Businesses nowadays are advertising their new products as better and novel than other products existing in the market, they conduct launch events and exclusive give-away to promote their product. The main reason for introducing a product as a novelty is mainly to stand-out among the competitors, but also to standout from their own previous generation product. However, emphasise on bringing in new technology in products, even though for the sake of advertisement seems to be a positive development in my opinion. Due to globalistation globalization is a huge amount of competition in every product sector, therefore companies are bringing in new devices to stand out among their competitors. For example, the tech- gaint Apple stood out when they introduced iPods which could store thousands of songs compared to the conventional MP3 players which were available at that time. Secondly, the companies introduce new products to put pressure on their existing customers to switch to a new device, which will inturn, increase the revenue for the business. For instance, if we look into the smartphone market we can see every year, a new flagship smartphone is released by companies which is better than their own product from the last year, it might be improvement in camera or even a new chipset. The constant pressure to bring in new items to the market is inturn fuelling innovations, thereby leading to a better developed world. To illustrate, if we look back 20 years, to see and talk to a person who is in another part of the world was far from reality, but today it is possible with improvements in connectivity and computation. This types of innovations happened gradually because of the pressure for creating novel advancements over the years. However, there are also cons relating to emphasising products to be new through advertisements, like increase in wastes as users switch to the new product for a negligible upgrade, it can even affect the mental health of the people as they might have an urge to buy a new product seen but may not be in a situation to buy the product. For example when I am buying a product today it is going to be taken over by some other better product sometimes even within a week. In summary, businesses nowadays are advertising their products to be new mainly, to stand out from their competitors. Although this approach has some disadvantages, the pros outwiegh the cons in my opinion.