Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently government has spent the majority of its money on the arts industry. Also, there are some people who believe that it is better to invest this money in public services. It is true that public services are necessary for individuals’ lives but art is part of our lives. It is crucial that the government assign a large amount of money to public services such as healthcare systems, roads, residential areas etc. Because, these parts of places have a vital role in people’s lives and determine the quality of pupils’ lives. For instance, in recent years, some developed countries have made advanced hospitals with high technology which can cure patients who suffer from bad diseases. This way has a positive effect on lifespan and leads to increase life expectancy. Thus, the assignment budget for public services through the government is very important and has a positive effect on society. Albeit, this does not mean that spending money on art is a waste of budget. First, the art industry such as music, dance and movies illustrates our cultures and traditions so keeping them safe is our duty. Second, there are some institutions which cannot afford enough money to show their art to the world, furthermore they need government support. Moreover, art has a vital role in our quality of life. In conclusion, although public services should be expanded and the government must allocate lots of money for this position, keeping the art industry alive can lead to maintaining our past and future. A balance between these two subjects can pleasure all people.