Some people believe that it is important to give gifts and presents to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show affection to them. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

In the modern-day, the world we live in is always fast and bustling. Tons of workloads and other issues bar us from meeting our relatives regularly. Therefore, many people believe giving gifts to them instead as a sign of gratitude is of great importance. However, others object to the aforesaid idea and think that we can show our respect to them in many different ways. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed and discussed before reaching a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, the fast pace of life makes it difficult for us to care about family and friends. For example, the sheer amount of tasks at hand needing to be dealt with, as well as numerous personal affairs, are what occupy us with. Thus we don't have enough time to have a chat with them, let alone have a gathering. Consequently, it is evident that we should give presents to relatives as a way to exhibit our affection to them. On the other hand, giving gifts to express our care to family and friends is a waste of money. For instance, it is known that presents are basically an item, so it costs a good deal of money, particularly with those of high standards. Unfortunately, people who barely cover basic living expenses could not afford such things, and they may be a financial burden if they ever want to buy them. As a result, gifts and presents are not always things we can do to show gratitude to people we love. In short, the two sides of the argument concerning the idea of whether we should offer something to pay respect to our next of kin are well substantiated. Nevertheless, after a comprehensive analysis of both sides, it is obvious that materials are not always necessary, and there are better ways to express affection to them. In my opinion, it is advisable to spend as much time as possible with family and friends by chatting or gathering somewhere because they also care a lot about us.