A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Opinions are divided as to whether social status and material possessions are the main things that use to judge the value of a person. In my opinion, I completely agreed that other out-to-dated values tend to be less crucial. There are various reasons why I firmly believe that in today's society a person will be judged by their status and the possession they have owned. After the advancement of social media, more people have been influenced by the invisible world which is known as the material society and also being materialisms unconsciously. This can be seen in wide societies throughout the world that a person who is rolling in money would be more respectful and gains social recognition. For example, although impoverished dwellers behave like great persons in communities, they eventually would be left behind and also pressed into the lower status. As a result, this kind of person who is kind, polite and honour is no longer being essential. In other words, wealthier that owns their large companies or sit in a high position, it is undeniable that there are more compliments compared with ordinary persons. Due to few residents can pursue that career and being a rich person is considered difficult to be. This is the main reason why social status could play a vital part in the existence that others will use to judge people in communities. For instance, those who work as celebrities, possess endless estates, fabulous houses and unreasonably expensive cars tend to be more wealthy in the eyes of other dwellers. In conclusion, although there may be some points that old-fashioned values are important, I strongly believe that our today's world has become more materialistic and value a human being by social status.