Some people believe that the internet has brought people closer together by making the world smaller. Others disagree, claiming that the internet has made people and communities more isolated because they no longer need to leave home and interact with others. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

Since the advent of internet, our life has changed in every aspect. While some claim that the internet has minimized our need for socializing and reduced our engagement with people, I believe that the internet has shrunk the world and this has eased our life in many aspects. This essay will discuss both perspectives. On one hand, thanks to the internet, we are able to do many things we could not do 4 decades ago. Today, we are able to access any information whenever we want and wherever we are. In other words, no matter where we are we can acquire any information we need. To give an example, a couple of years ago, On my holiday in Berlin, I got lost and I was looking for a decent hotel with a reasonable price. It was midnight and the only source was my mobile phone with an internet connection. After checking the comments of others, I managed to spend the night staying in a comfortable hotel. On the other hand, the reliance on the internet has reduced human interaction. Texting and instant messages has converted many people into introvert beings. The more dependence on the internet, the less we interact with others. To illustrate, although online banking has eased our life in many aspects, we do not need the hospitality of the people working at banks. Besides, online education has diminished the interaction of tutors and pupils. Whenever students have a question, they prefer to write an email to their teachers. It can be obviously seen that online activities have reduced the necessity of human interaction. All in all, Although the internet and the dependence on online activities have reduced the necessity of human interaction, as a social entity we are still in search for human engagement. I believe that using the internet consciously would mitigate its negative effects.