Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, a debate with regard to the disciplines that should be taught at school has been sparked, drawing much attention from the public. While some people insist that school should focus on themes that will directly benefit the students’ relevant job skills, I would side with those who are of opinion that courses such as: music and sports should not be overlooked and underestimated. On the one hand, academic subjects including: maths, science and languages play an integral role in allowing students to have a higher-paying jobs could be plausible to some degree. In other words, the foremost objective of those who embark on tertiary education is to have financially viable careers after they finished. Therefore, curriculum should be dedicated to core themes which are placed heavy emphasis by higher education institution and employers. If students do not learn those subjects at school, they could only do entry-level jobs that neither giving them high salaries nor teaching them anything substantive. On the other hand, there is ample evidence that non-academic subjects are able to help graduates be more employable should be reasonable. In other words, a host of businesses are increasingly looking beyond the technical expertise and qualifications and attach greater importance to attributes such as: collaborative skills, adaptability and endurance that can only be honed through learning music and sports. Another compelling factor would be that thanks to teaching non-academic themes at schools, teachers are able to discover pupils who are endowed with aptitudes in athletic and artistic fields. Thus, without the opportunity in enrolling in music and sports, those students do not have an ability to achieve their full potential. This is a testament to how significant non-academic subjects are. The conclusion to be drawn is that despite the importance of academic themes, others should not to be overlooked and underestimated.