Some young people commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks, some people think they should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile offenders, regardless of their age, are just as culpable for their crimes as adult offenders and must take responsibility for their actions. However, I do believe the age and severity of the crime could play a part in the sentence. Young people below the age of 14 may lack the cognitive ability to fully understand the law and the ramification of their unlawful behaviour. They are easily influenced by surroundings or television and not fully aware of the consequence of violence, therefore are likely to commit crimes that they didn’t mean to. To those minor offenders with misdemeanours, juvenile detention is a more suitable punishment, where they can think, reflect and correct their wrongdoing. Still, juvenile delinquency is a major issue that society should address through continuous efforts. Under some extreme conditions, such as murder or brutal violence, serious punishments must be carried out as well. There are quite a few cases where teenagers committed extremely hideous crimes by torturing and murdering their acquaintances with cold blood. Some of them showed malicious intent, meticulous planning and no remorse at all. Those felons pose extreme danger and threats to the public and should definitely be tried as adults and receive the same sentencing as adults do. There should be no leniency towards those ruthless criminals regardless of their age. In conclusion, teenagers with misdemeanours should be given the second chance and spared from prison incarceration. In extreme cases like murder and brutal violence, those teenagers should be sent to prison just as the adults do.