Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argued that public transport should be fully funded by the government, while government indeed should play a crucial role in public transport, I believe it is hardly plausible and practical to make public transport completely free to the public. A more affordable public transport system would benefit the city in multiple ways. Firstly, it is the most effective method to tackle the exacerbating traffic congestion and air pollution problems. With the cost of public transport being lowered, people are more likely to cut down the use of personal cars, thereby reducing the car emissions that lead to poisonous air pollution, mitigating the problems associated with traffic jams, and boosting productivity. In addition, the government could lower the massive spending paid on the construction and maintenance of roads and bridges, when the public swift from private automobile to public transport. However, the idea of free public transport does not work as effectively as people think. To begin with, it will put an excessive burden on the government ’s budget, as a result, investments in other sectors such as education, healthcare system, technology development could be curtailed accordingly. Moreover, it remains unclear that to what extent will public transit benefit the traffic and environment. Once public transport is completely free, the number of people who frequently travel by public transit could be surged drastically, which might undermine the positive impacts brought by the reduced use of private cars, even paralyzing the system during rush hours. In conclusion, although free public transit sounds plausible in theory,it will no doubt give rise to unexpected obstacles in practice. To alleviate the issue brought by the excessive use of private automobiles, the government could improve public transport or impose stricter regulation, rather than providing free public traffic.