Many government think the economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

some people believe that economic progress is the paramount factor to the government, others believe progress in other sectors is equally important. In my opinion, the development of the economy is the foundation of achievements in other sectors, and should be the primary concern of our society. Economic growth is the vital factor in a thriving society, since it indicates an increase in the value of the nation output, income and expenditure. A booming economy will benefit the public in every aspect. Firstly, it is the solution to poverty and low employment rate. Economic progress gives birth to more diverse industries and business, therefore more jobs are created and more people are employed. Secondly, it enhances people’s standard of living by raising the average income. it enables consumers to consume more goods and services. Last but not least, with more tax revenues being generated, the government has more financial resources to invest in sectors such as education, health care, technology development and environmental protection, which will ultimately benefit mankind as a whole. It is undeniable that other types of progress such as education, health care, environmental protection are as important as well. For instance, education illuminates people’s minds and thinking, and could spur technological advances and innovation. Affordable and accessible health care guarantees well-being and living standards for the public, especially the elderly. Environmental protection could secure a better health condition and sustainable development not only for ourselves but also for future generations. However, these courses of business can only be taken care of when the government have enough resources raised by tax revenues or direct foreign investment. In other words, they are heavily dependent on the economic progress.In conclusion, economic growth is the bloodline of every business and could enable them to thrive and prosper. Government should lay their most emphasis on the economy, and in the meantime, it should address other issues as well.