As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantage for environment?

It has been a growing trend that people buy and use private cars instead of taking public transport, while this trend will no doubt facilitate the flow of goods and people, it also poses threats to the environment by producing excessive car emissions. In my view, I think the advantages come with the use of cars outweigh the disadvantages. A booming automobile industry could benefit both the individuals and the government. To begin with, private cars could significantly improve living standards by granting people the mobility and independence to travel. People could go shopping, work or other pursuits at any time or anywhere without confining to the fixed schedule or accessibility of public transport. In sparsely populated areas, owning a car is even more important, since it provides the only opportunity for travelling long distances due to a lack of public transport. In addition, the automobile industry is a critical component of economic growth as well. It boosts the economy by creating numerous job opportunities, generating affluent financial resources and extensive interaction with other industry sectors. Admittedly, the prevalence of private cars has inevitably brought about certain social issues, namely traffic congestion and air pollution. The exhaust fumes emitted from automobiles are the leading culprit for climate change and deteriorating air pollution. As a matter of fact, the consumption of fossil fuels could generate carbon dioxide, a major greenhouse gas that contributes to global warming and thus endangers the existence of mankind. Apart from carbon dioxide, other noxious pollutants released from vehicles would also jeopardize our health by causing diseases like asthma or cancer. Nevertheless, these problems could be mitigated or even eradicated as modern technology develops and alternative energies are widely adopted. To sum up, the automobile industry is vital both to the convenience of personal life and to economic development. The advantages it brings could definitely exceed its negative impact. Yet, the government could not overlook those adverse effects and should spare no efforts to address these imminent issues.