The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether city dwellers should be encouraged to use public transportation rather than private vehicles to diminish traffic snarls and air contamination. From my perspective, I side with the former state because of the reasonable explanations below. First, it can be considered as an effective measure to deal with traffic jams when individuals commute by means of public transport rather than private vehicles. As a matter of fact, the traffic infrastructure in many countries can not meet the demand of citizens as the dimension of urban’s roads are too narrow, compared with the number of cars used on a regular basis. Consequently, public transport like buses and metros can address the gridlocks because a large number of urban inhabitants could travel in a long distance at the same time. This can be exemplified by the prime case of Japan, where citizens mainly commute to and from work by subway, which can partly reduce the traffic congestion during rush hour. Second, it is undeniable that encouraging urban dwellers to utilize public transportation can make substantial contributions to addressing the issue of polluted air. More precisely, it is estimated that around 130 grams of carbon dioxide per kilometer will be discharged from a car in use. By comparison, with the use of means of public transport such as buses and subways, the number of carbon emissions could be diminished significantly, with 950 grams over 50 passengers per kilometer, according to some statistics in the year 2016. Therefore, using more public transport can be a simple and feasible solution to mitigate air pollution in big cities. For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that the crowd’s awareness of using means of public transport should be raised in order to tackle traffic congestion and air degradation; only by doing so, could the quality of life be improved.