In many cities, there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With cities becoming overpopulated with the rising number of inhabitants, there is a greater need for more space, to accommodate the greater influx of people. This results in the destruction of older buildings to give way to new buildings. This has disadvantages which will be explained in this essay. On one hand, destroying older buildings is like removing a piece of history from a city. For example, The Cecil Hotel in Los Angeles is a hotel steeped in mystery, as it the sight of numerous unexplained deaths, the most recent of which being in 2013. Now, whats makes this an attraction, is the fact that no one knows how these people died, which again adds to the mystery. Because of this fact, this hotel has become an attraction for conspiracy theorists and normal onlookers. Although this building attracts people for the wrong reason, it now acts as a tourism attraction, which generates revenue for the city. Secondly, destroying the older buildings is labour intrusive. This means, that the planning and construction of a new building will cost millions of taxpayer dollars, which eats into the cities budget. On the other hand, there are some pros to removing a dilapidated building. One of which is safety. Although people may argue that it would just be cheaper to renovate a building, the safety and integrity of the structure must be checked first. More often than not, the structure is deemed unworthy, thereby resulting in it being torn down. Furthermore, a new building will provide a new landscape to the city, and will also allow room to improve the facilities of the building. In conclusion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and therefore it is always better to build a new building from the ground up.