Nowadays, parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed what is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent days, parents put a lot of pressure on their children to succeed because of too much societal pressure and investments they have put into them. In my view, this is a negative move since it drives young people to depression and suicide. To begin with, parents feel a lot of pressure from society. Society at large expects that parents must ensure that their kids become successful, either in school, at work, or in sports. Whenever children fail, parents are the first people to be blamed, so they always push their young ones to succeed at all costs. In Kenya, for example, when young individuals get spoiled or fail in life, parents are always on the receiving end for failing to fulfil their parental responsibilities. In addition to the above, they might have also spent a significant amount of money educating their children. They might have sent them to the most expensive schools or send them abroad, and in case the children fail, they will be ridiculed. Hence, parents are always under pressure to ensure that their kids succeed. On the other hand, this is a bad move as children might end up in depression or committing suicide. In most cases, especially in Kenya, many parents play a role in whatever their kids do in their lives. If it is education, they want to choose a career path for them, which may be kids may not be interested in. In such circumstances, they will be doing things that they do not have a passion to pursue, and at the end of it all, they might be frustrated and driven to suicide or depression; therefore, it is paramount that kids, as much as parents want them to succeed, deserve freedom. In conclusion, lately, parents have been under pressure because of too much pressure from the society and resources they have invested in their children; however, this is a negative move as children might commit suicide or get into depression.