In the past, when students did a university degree, they trended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Prior to the year 2000, it was more than normal for many of the students to continue with their post-college studies in their homeland. However, this has completely changed with globalization. Let me explain my thoughts in the next few paragraphs. To start with, management of different academies from various countries started organising educational fairs across the globe to attract students and talent. For me, this is the most important factor which started influencing graduates to explore their study chances at overseas universities. Campus facilities including advanced infrastructure, work while pursuing courses, economical advancements compared to their homeland, I think are the few advantages offered by overseas universities compared to local. For example, one of my friends opted to pursue his post-graduate degree from the University of Illinois. He weighed in the benefits of the course including global platform, job opportunities post completion of the course. On the other hand, we need to note that travelling overseas and pursuing education is not easy for many owing to financial and family dependencies. For example, I always wanted to go abroad and earn a degree in business management from the University of London which is known for its fame and placements. Also, if every student plans to complete his education overseas then it can add a huge gap to the local nation on not making enough talent for the future. For example, today Indian government is requesting non-resident Indians who are settled overseas to come back and serve the nation. This is a perfect case of pupils who migrated from India to other nations are now being asked to return to their mother nation and serve. To conclude, I recommend that one should balance their career by exploring both local and global opportunities and serve homeland once you are an expert at your subject.