People in the limelight have a responsibility to set a example to others by their good behavior. Do you agree?

Some people believe that celebrities have a responsibility towards the public by setting an example, especially for the youth look up to. Although to some extent I agree with this notion, there is a part to this which I disagree to. On one hand, the life of a celebrity is one in which people want to be them or at least be like them. The public is in awe of the glitz and glamour of their life, and this puts them in a position to influence the youth. Make them aware of certain realities. A prime example of this is, in the recently completed European championship, Cristiano Ronaldo was in a press conference, and in that conference, he got rid of the Coke/Pepsi bottle near him, and said “water” in his native Portuguese, hinting that people should stop drinking these soft drinks, and instead drink water. The result of this simple action was accompanied by many other players following suit, not to mention that Coca-Cola's market value plummeted by £2.8 billion. However, one thing the public forgets is that celebrities at the end of the day, are also people. They will make mistakes, just like regular citizens and some of these mistakes will be due to a lack of maturity. Furthermore, for these mistakes, we cannot really hold them accountable, because there are some mistakes that people make which reflect on their maturity level. In conclusion, whilst I feel celebrities hold a large fan base and thereby can inspire others to work hard, and enjoy life, they can also just as easily make errors of judgement like the remainder of us, so it is always important to be objective about following the life of a celebrity.