In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a tendency that businesses attach much importance to their products' novelty in the advertising campaign. In my opinion, this is regarded as a strategy to distinguish them from their rivals and attract the audience. Such a phenomenon tends to bring harm to the business market. To begin with, the fact that increasing competition in the intensive advertising among companies due to the information explosion indicates that a unique advertisement plays a crucial role in corporations' publicity and raises consumers' attention. Basically, claiming the product is new to some extent facilitates concentration from the public since it satisfies humans' intrinsic curiosity. For example, iPhone company tends to focus on their phone's novel functions every time when they propose a new version. Had iPhone not emphasized its novelty in the advertisements, it would never dominate the global smartphone market. Although this trend seems to be beneficial to corporations, it in fact leads to a negative atmosphere in society. This is because the peer pressure in the market will tempt all the business entities to declare they have innovated something different while sometimes they haven't. That is the reason why a wide range of advertisements distort the truth and exaggerate their products' function and performance, violating the interest of consumers who firmly believe in them. As a result, the public can be disappointed with those companies and lose support, which can be regarded as irreversible damage in the long term. In conclusion, businesses emphasize their products' new aspects in their advertisements with the hope to attract the audience and therefore make maximum profit. However, if lack of sufficient control and management, it may bring side effects to society and the companies themselves in the long term.