Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

The increasing amount of health issues caused by current food and drinks which are high in sugar lead to an idea that these products ought to be charged more to discourage the consumption of the public. As far as effectiveness and citizens' right are concerned, I firmly agree with this point. First and foremost, the fact that the price of products would be the first prioritize of consumers indicates that this policy can be highly efficient to constrain the public's desire of consuming. Basically, it can be achieved by requiring more tax from these manufactories and companies. For example, if a bottle of Coca-cola charges 10 yuan, an increasing number of youngsters will tend to think twice before making a purchase, and it is more likely for them to turn to other alternatives like water. As a result, less sugar will be taken in by adolescents, which helps to eliminate potential diseases in the long term. Admittedly, a voice raises that it is morally unfair for the government to interfere with the customers' decisions on what they want to eat and drink. Ironically, this argument ignores the reality that the public is easy to be misled by corporations through intensive advertisements that sometimes distort the truth. It is the actions of the government enabling people to understand the impact of high levels of sugar that prevents their rights from being violated. For instance, diversified chocolate advertisements focus only on its taste, resulting in that customers ignore corresponding side-effects and gain much weight later on. Had the consumers been informed well by the government, they would have made more rational choices. In conclusion, considering the effectiveness and the public's right, I maintain the view that the price of surgery products should be higher, which can be a useful approach to appeal to customers to spend less money on them.