In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In various areas, students are advised to consume the time between high school and university by doing jobs or by going on adventurous journeys. This essay will discuss how this approach can help make more responsible adults, and on the flip side, how it can be somewhat dangerous as well. Let's first talk about the pros that can be achieved through this idea. When juveniles use their spare time more appropriately by working, they tend to know the value of hard-earned money, besides becoming more responsible. Although working to earn money is a tedious task, it teaches young people the importance of time and discipline - from waking up to go for their job to complete the assigned task, this practice helps them turn into responsible individuals who are also precautious about their spending's. On the other hand, there are also some cons to this approach. Whilst a high-school graduate physically looks mature enough, they need the experience to grow up mentally. By doing a job or going on a world exploration tour, they can get influenced by wrong people or, worse, get lost during the journey. At a young age, people are usually not much traveled; also they're not aware of the places or things they might end up putting themselves into; so we can say that this approach of spending the year gap should be thought about more to make it safe. In conclusion, this style of using the time between high school and the university has both merits and demerits; one should encourage their children to choose one based on their abilities.