Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The government of a country spends the national budget on various departments. Some people claim that the money spent on the arts is useless and the government should utilise that amount towards other services. Although I agree that the higher authorities should spend funds on public services such as the education system, I also believe that some financial help should be given to the arts. On the one hand, the government should use the national budget for the betterment of health and educational services. Plenty of learning institutions should be made by the government for the development of a nation. Schools and colleges should be made in all towns and villages so that even the low-income families in remote areas have access to education. For instance, the state government of Kerala, India built education centres for most of the villages which is now known as the most literate state in the country. Hence, for a better future, the government should pay more attention to educational services. On the other hand, a proportion of the national budget must go towards arts to preserve a country's heritage. Arts such as traditional dance and music are important to keep alive as they reflect the roots where we are coming from. Authorities should spend on exhibitions and academies to teach the younger generation traditional dance and music. For instance, in India, all the state governments provide a proportion of the budget towards teaching cultural music and dance in schools. This way the identity of a community is being preserved and transferred from one generation to another. To conclude, the government should spend most of the finances on public services like education and hospitals for the development of a country. However, it is also undeniable that arts should also receive funding to keep the culture and traditions of a country alive.